Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

Ideas for 1 day backpacking trip

• 12 Replies

Offline Texasdave21

• Kangaroo Rat
Ideas for 1 day backpacking trip
« on: March 11, 2019, 09:11:02 PM »
Hello All,

First of all just want to say what a great website this is. Me and my wife have been going to big bend a few years, and I had gotten info on this website, but this is my first time posting.
We were mostly day hikers but started doing backpacking recently and really enjoy it. We did Marufo Vega in late feb, was truly a wonderful, epic hike. We are looking for a 1 nighter for March 29-30. We are around 30, in decent shape, we like to take it slow and enjoy the scenery. We should arrive early around 8:30am at PJ to get permit, so we should be at the trailhead an hr or two after that depending on the trailhead we choose

We want to save the chisos for the warmer parts of the year.
I was thinking MDA until tinaja blanca and back. Another option is a loop starting at Mule Ears w/ Smoky Creek Trail, but would need help with this route. I have heard some people talk about a nice canyon in smoky creek trail going north from the junction w/ mule ears trail.

Thank you in advance

Offline steelfrog

• Mountain Lion
Re: Ideas for 1 day backpacking trip
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2019, 09:44:42 PM »
MDA to Tinaja Blanca will take you like 3 hours. Why not just camp on the Point?  Youíre young. Days are growing longer. Say you donít get on trail til 10am, thatís 9 hours to get to the Point by sundown, about 14 miles. Download Gaia GPS map, you wonít get lost. Next day you start hiking out much earlier and more downhill than up, get out quicker.