Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

"Airing down"

• 15 Replies

Offline Sneed1979

• Kangaroo Rat
"Airing down"
« on: June 29, 2017, 03:59:04 PM »
I'm not new to BiBe but I'm a newbie at 4wd. If I intend on doing the "smoother" of the primitive roads (e.g. River Road East to Mariscal, Glenn Springs Rd,, Old Ore Rd just from the south to Ernst Tinaja), do I need to let air out of my tires like they do on more serious trails? FYI, I have a stock Wrangler Unlimited.

Online Flash

• Mountain Lion
Re: "Airing down"
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2017, 04:05:10 PM »
Done all the roads mentioned in a stock 2WD Tacoma with standard tire inflation. I guess the answer is no.  :)

Offline Reece

• Black Bear
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2017, 06:11:38 PM »
Wrangler here also, no need to air down unless you just want a little softer ride. In the unlikely event that you get stuck, you can always air down for that larger footprint.

Sent from my iPhone using Big Bend Chat

Offline rocketman

• Off-Grid Space Cadet
  • Coyote
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2017, 07:39:51 PM »
Agree with the others. Airing down is generally done for more traction (larger footprint), but is not necessary on those roads unless you just want a smoother ride as Reece said.
Making ice cubes FROM THE SUN!!!

Offline elhombre

• Golden Eagle
  • Black Bear
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2017, 08:46:03 PM »