Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

Book: Death in Big Bend by Laurence Parent

• 6 Replies

Offline Moose

• Kangaroo Rat
Book: Death in Big Bend by Laurence Parent
« on: August 07, 2019, 06:24:29 PM »
I am a NOOB on this site and to BBNP.   I visited BBNP for first time this past May 2019 and have been engrossing myself with everything about BBNP since
including a second visit this year.

I purchased the book Death In Big Bend by L. Parent although it seemed somewhat strange to me to read a book about different individuals death's.
I have to say for me personally it was a well written book.   It kept me interested throughout.   Each chapter set the stage from the beginning, 
then it went thru and told the story without a lot of fluff and then wrapped up each chapter to close.    I would recommend the book.   

My main reason making this post   (I have read the other reviews and trailing discussions)   is that there were two big things the book made me aware of that I never considered.......

1.)  how potentially easy it is for one to get into a situation at BBNP regardless of if they thought they were prepared or simply careless.
2.)  how knowledgeable, organized, prepared & dedicated the park rangers were described in the book.

observation #1 has been discussed all over and can have ten opinions from a group of 4 people talking about it.   lol.

observation #2 surprised me.   very interesting.  Do these rangers have a checklist when hired to hike every trail, know every crook and cranny of the park,  and sign