Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

OML first overnighter

• 14 Replies

Offline pharris13

• Kangaroo Rat
OML first overnighter
« on: April 12, 2019, 12:04:03 PM »
Hi everyone this is my first post on the board and my first trip to Big Bend in a very long time so bear with me. I have spent plenty of time taking in all the great information on the site but just want to make sure I have all the info I need before I head out. This is my first overnight trip but I have plenty of day hiking experience. I am planning a CW trip of the OML with a stop at the south rim starting 4/17. Planning on getting to the park and caching 2 gallons of water at HW and then headed to the basin to start. Planning on starting with 4 liters of water but I'm wondering if this will last me till HW or if I will need to find water along the juniper? Physically I know I'm capable of the trip but I am a little concerned about the water situation. Would like to complete in 3 days but will take 4 if anyone thinks that's a better idea. Any tips or info for a first timer would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, pharris

Offline mule ears

• Golden Eagle
  • Mountain Lion
  • "He had to leave Texas but won't say why" McMurtry
    • 40 years of walking
Re: OML first overnighter
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2019, 01:22:33 PM »
Welcome to  BBC!