Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2020 Big Bend Chat Calendar

2020 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

Backpack feels "bulky"

• 23 Replies

Offline Losthiker68

• Roadrunner
Backpack feels "bulky"
« on: September 14, 2018, 07:12:10 PM »
I'm new to backpacking so maybe its just me but my pack feels bulky.

I finally got everything I need for my first Bender in December.

I went to REI's website and followed their instructions on how to pack a backpack.  The weight seems okay (25# without food and water) but it seems like it is just bursting at the seams.

The pack is a 70l pack. At the bottom I've put my sleeping bag (Certami 3-season synthetic), tent (Bushnell bivy tent), pad (Ecotek inflatable), and pillow (Trekology aluft inflatable). This occupies around 2/3 of the pack, about half of that is the sleeping bag. After that - cooking kit (6.5" x 4.8"), jetboil with 230g fuel, first aid kit (2 part - small one for scrapes/cuts which I keep in an outer pocket and the other kit kept deeper in the pack with an ace bandage, knee brace <I have an old meniscus injury that is being fussy so it needs to be in there>, sunburn gel, etc. water filter, and I'm down to maybe 15% of the pack left for food. water, and spare clothing.

Am I doing something wrong?
Take a course in good water and air; and in the eternal youth of Nature you may renew your own. Go quietly, alone; no harm will befall you. - John Muir

Offline elhombre

• Golden Eagle
  • Mountain Lion
Re: Backpack feels "bulky"
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2018, 07:52:33 PM »