Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

What is Your Most Amazing Moment in Big Bend?

• 172 Replies

Offline Bluetex

• Diamondback
Re: What is Your Most Amazing Moment in Big Bend?
« Reply #165 on: January 27, 2016, 04:26:57 PM »
Well..... I have been going to the Bend since I was a freshman in HS. Since then I have taken many trips... but the one that stands out the most is when I decided to marry my wife. We had been to Big Bend a couple of times together. Over the years I had taken a couple significant others to Big Bend, none of which truly loved it like I did. Several years ago when I had just begun seeing my wife I suggested a trip to the bend, and whether I was doing it subliminally or not I guess that was kind of always my test. She had never been before and when I started to mention camping, tent, backcountry, hiking, she began getting even more excited. The trip went very well....and when she began planning our next trip before we had even ended the current trip I was in love!
Fastforward 2 years... We stood atop Emory peak, ontop of the world looking down at the beauty that is west Texas. I had been keeping a ring in my pocket the entire hike, just waiting for a good moment... well it was an amazing moment! After she said yes we both had a conversation about how seeing a black bear would be the icing on the cake. On the hike down we saw our bear. I like to think that was the Big Bend gods giving their blessing!
" In the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years."
                                              Abraham Lincoln

Offline dprather

• Mountain Lion
« Reply #166 on: January 27, 2016, 04:59:41 PM »