Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

BBRSP Trip Plan 2/8-2/10

• 11 Replies

Offline M2kayak

• Kangaroo Rat
BBRSP Trip Plan 2/8-2/10
« on: January 13, 2019, 01:03:38 PM »
We are planning to drive down from Lubbock on 2/8 and have campsites reserved at BBRSP La Cuesta (2 WD). Our party consists of 5 adults and 3 kids (2,3,7). This is my first time camping at Bbrsp, and my first time to the region in 20 years.  I cannot wait to stare at the stars. We were originally planning to do a boomerang kayak (we have our own) and hybrid kayak/ canoe  trip at Santa Elena, is this still feasible with the shut down? I am thinking possibly since we could put in at Lajitas, paddle up and then float back? If not feasible, should we leave our kayaks at home? I am not wanting to do too long a trip and get into needing a shuttle. I also considered hiking closed canyon. Thank you for the input!

Sent from my iPhone using Big Bend Chat

Offline M2kayak

• Kangaroo Rat
Re: BBRSP Trip Plan 2/8-2/10
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2019, 01:05:58 PM »
I should add that this is a short trip, and my way of indoctrinating my family into BB region and hoping to return ASAP.

Offline M2kayak

• Kangaroo Rat
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2019, 01:23:12 PM »
Well, on second thought I think 20 miles is ambitious for a boomerang (with the kids). It may be the case that SEC is off the table. Any other doable boomerangs in BBRSP?

Offline Jalco

• Mountain Lion
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2019, 01:34:42 PM »
Have you considered floating some of the canyons above Santa Elena?

Offline M2kayak

• Kangaroo Rat
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2019, 02:43:03 PM »