Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

Trailer in BBRSP

• 6 Replies

Offline Utabb

• Kangaroo Rat
Trailer in BBRSP
« on: January 08, 2017, 05:26:25 PM »
I'm a newbie to this forum, but not BBRSP. A video of mine going down the Fresno Canyon trail two years ago got posted here and I started reading. There is a ton of great information.
We are thinking of coming back this Spring Break and I need advice. We have a high clearance tear drop trailer we tow with the Wrangler. We didn't have it two years ago and stayed at the ranch house. What would be some good campsites in the park for our rig? For reference, we towed it to Talley 1 in BBNP with no problem.
Thanks in advance!

Offline BlindWilly

• Overlander
  • Coyote
    • TXpedition Offroad & Overland
Re: Trailer in BBRSP
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 01:43:44 PM »
I just got back from BBRSP about 2 weeks ago.
Mexicano 2 is a GREAT campsite that we wheeled to.  The next day we left there and took a back trail to Las Burras #1.  The back trail is called the Javelin trail and goes from Javelin Pens to the Oso Loop. From there you can head down to Las Burras.
Las Burras #1 probably isn't the best for a teardrop, so check with the rangers about #'s 2 and 3.
I'm not sure about the trail to Guale, but Guale 2 sounds like it would be awesome for a teardrop. 
If you want to see (It's about an hour or so long) the Javelin trail, check out my youtube video.
"No matter where you go, there you are"
-Buckaroo Bonzai

www.txpedition.com

Offline Jalco

• Black Bear
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2017, 07:47:04 PM »
Nice vid, Willy.  Makes me want to fire up the Suburban and head out.

Offline BlindWilly

• Overlander
  • Coyote
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2017, 09:59:33 AM »