Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

Best one-man backpacking tents (not tarps) that are reasonably priced

• 13 Replies

Offline dprather

• Mountain Lion
Top price = $250
Leave "quit" at the car.  Embrace the trail as your friend.  Expect to enjoy yourself, and to be amazed.

Offline GaryF

• Coyote
Tarptent Protrail?    Disclaimer: Recommendation based upon specs and other peopleís reviews, I have no personal experience with this tent.

Offline elhombre

• Golden Eagle
  • Mountain Lion
https://www.rei.com/product/110817/rei-co-op-quarter-dome-1-tent

Have used this one over 4 years.  It holds up better than most for a great price.  The #1 concern with these small tents are how well they handle a wind blowing on them from the side.  Trust me.  This is very important come rainstorms in the mountains.  Most use only one long pole that extends the length of the tent.  The strongest ones use a second pole that holds out the side of the tent to make it wide.  The REi one does this pretty well, and the fly is designed to stretch out further on the sides for more stability.  I have an older Marmot Tungsten that did NOT handle side wind very well at all.  The redesigned Marmot 2-pole tent they sell now looks like it should hold up better, but I haven't use it every.  The Marmot is also heavier.  14 oz difference between the 2.  The REI one also has a vent.  Don't know about the Marmot.  The vent is a huge plus in my experience.  If I were to buy a new tent that uses tent poles, I would buy the REI one.