Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

4 tallest peaks in TX

• 4 Replies

Offline vgeh

• Kangaroo Rat
4 tallest peaks in TX
« on: December 05, 2017, 09:59:38 AM »
I will be in Guadalupe Mtn NP late December and planning to summit the 4 tall peaks(Guadalupe, Shumard, Barlett and Bush Mtn) on a day hike. I am still figuring out the exact date but it will be likely 23, 24 or 25th.

This will be a solo hike and I will start from the Guadalupe Peak trailhead and make a loop in counterclock wise direction and back to Guadalupe Peak trailhead hiking to summits of Shumard, Barlett and Bush Mtn. This is my first time to the park so I am both excited and little nervous!!

Anyone going to be in the park at the same time? Want to say hi or join on this adventure?

Offline Talusman

• Diamondback
Re: 4 tallest peaks in TX
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2017, 11:23:16 AM »
I wish you good luck. Just be prepared to not get it done. If you have never hiked there you will be surprised at how much bush whacking you will encounter. I planned a route to Shumard for a day hike the first time I climbed Shumard. Photos from all angles around it. Topo. Satellite.  When Scree bird and I did it in a day hike it was way tougher than it appeared. I'd be sure to wear good gaiters and long sleeves for sure. Eye protection is nice if you wear glasses or take sunglasses. Your daylight will be short as well. You really don't want to get caught between Guadalupe and Bush in the Dark. It is all off trail. The Pine Springs Canyon that comes down between Bartlett and Bush will have some really tough bush whacking. I hope you get an early start and good luck.

Hope you get some good pictures. I look forward to hearing you accomplish this goal.