Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

First timer

• 67 Replies

Offline Chireaux

• Kangaroo Rat
First timer
« on: June 22, 2012, 06:54:23 PM »
Hey guys, I have been reading the forum for a few weeks trying to figure out a plan, but this is my first time to big bend and also my first time hiking/camping. I am leaving next week so would like to get some more input into the trip. My wife and I are planning on the doing the south rim trail, starting at the lodge and making the loop back (cant remember the trail names right now but do have a map). We were planning on leaving about 3 or 4 pm and hiking until dark, and then finishing the trail the next morning. Ill try to make a list of questions and get to the point instead of rambling...
1) Can I wear sandals (chacos) or do I need hiking boots?
2) Is there a chance of it being cool at night?
3) Do you actually need a sleeping bag, or just a mat of some sort?
4)Is a long sleeve shirt highly recommended?? how about pants?
5) do I need topography maps, or is there no chance of getting lost on the trail.
6) What is the best way to carry water. Do I need a camel pack or just load my back pack with bottled water?
7) I have no idea what food to bring or how to cook it, any suggestions?
8) The highs next week are 105-110 in Terlingua, Would that make the Chisos around 90-95?
I guess thats enough for now.
Any input would greatly appreciated?

Offline kevint

• Golden Eagle
  • Black Bear
    • Pictures
First timer
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2012, 07:14:48 PM »
I don't have the kind of experience you are  needing but welcome to the forum and welcome to Big Bend. You'll love it!
-- Kevin (W5KLT)