Big Bend Conservancy
2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!
Local Rabies Control Authority (Health and Safety Code Chapter 826.017). Mandates that every county have this position.
Pet Vaccination RequirementsThe state of Texas requires that dogs and cats be vaccinated against rabies by 4 months of age and on a 1 year or 3 year basis thereafter depending on the type of vaccine used.* Additionally, when traveling with a dog or cat, have in your possession a rabies vaccination certificate that was signed by a veterinarian. Check with your veterinarian about other vaccines that are available for a wide range of diseases.All dogs and cats over 3 months of age that are being transported into Texas must have been vaccinated against rabies within the last 12 or 36 months depending on the type of vaccine used.*Although not required by law, it is recommended that livestock (especially those that have frequent contact with humans), domestic ferrets, and wolf-dog hybrids should be vaccinated against rabies. Again, check with your veterinarian about other available vaccines for these animals.For an animal to be considered currently vaccinated against rabies, at least 30 days must have elapsed since the initial vaccination and not more than 12 or 36 months (depending on the vaccine used)* can have elapsed since the last vaccination.* All dogs and cats must receive a second rabies vaccination within one year of receiving their first vaccination, regardless of the type of vaccine used or the age at which the animal was initially vaccinated.
Texas Rabies Control Act (Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 826). Requires all pet owners to vaccinate (and keep current) their pets against the deadly rabies virus after four months of age. Class C Misdemeanor with up to $300 fine.
Dogs Dangerous to Animals (Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 822 Subchapter B). The owner or keeper of a dog that the person knows is accustomed to chase or kill livestock, domestic animals, or fowl may not allow the dog to run at large. The penalty of the owner who allows his dog to run at large is in violation and can be punished with a fine not to exceed $100. This law became effective in 1989.
Keeping a Dangerous Dog (Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 822 Sub-Chapter D). A dangerous dog is defined as one that makes unprovoked attacks or acts like its going to attack a person when it is out of the enclosure which it is being kept. State of Texas law (Chapter 822.041) states that the owner of a dangerous dog must register the dog with animal control office or the Sheriff Office in areas without an animal control office and restrain the dog at all times on a leash when outside its secure enclosure. The owner must also purchase a $100,000 liability insurance policy specific for the dog to cover the cost of potential damage to a person. This law became effective in 1991.
HB-1355—Known as Lillian’s Law. This law provides that a dog owner can be held criminally responsible if the dog causes serious bodily injury or death at a location other than the owner’s property in an unprovoked attack during which the owner by criminal negligence failed to secure the dog.
All photographs and content posted by members are to be considered copyrighted by their respective owners and may not be used for any purposes, commercial or otherwise, without permission.