Friends of Big Bend National Park
Big Bend Conservancy

Over-estimating your experience or under-estimating the terrain in a place like Big Bend can result in serious injury or death. Use the information and advice found here wisely. Climb/Hike/Camp/Drive at your own risk.

+-Calendar for sale

2019 BigBendChat Calendar on sale now!

Still new after all these years!

• 10 Replies

Offline Cookie

• Golden Eagle
  • Diamondback
  • "you never slow down, you never grow old" T.P.
Still new after all these years!
« on: December 08, 2018, 03:24:20 PM »
I can’t believe that ElHombre and I have been visiting Big Bend for almost 20 years! We used to go scuba diving for our vacations, but in 1998 we purchased a Toyota Tacoma and our adventures with camping began. In the spring of ‘99 we planned our first camping trip to the southwest. We hit Zion, Bryce, the Grand Canyon, and some cool stuff in between. The next year we headed out again for almost 3 weeks and discovered Big Bend on our way back home. Since then we have visited the park at least once a year. Good years were 3 times! I love the fact that after all those visits there are still parts of the park we have not explored. This trip was about doing some “new” stuff in the park. The Mesa De Anguila(MDA) would be new to me and YoungHiker (YH). ElHombre had done a multi-night rappelling trip last year so he was familiar with the area. We also wanted to explore the Rosillos Mountains. We had 10 nights to plan for so this was the itinerary:

Night 1: drive in/get permits/car camp primitive
Night 2-4: MDA backpacking
Night 5-8: primitive car camping in the backcountry/day hiking
Night 9-10: Backpack the south rim